The 2020 Session Has Begun!

January 17, 2020


The 2020 Session Has Begun!

Greetings, I am back in Annapolis hard at work for the residents of Howard County and Maryland. We began the session with a historic unanimous vote to elect Delegate Adrienne Jones as Speaker of the House. Speaker Jones is the first woman, and the first African American, to be elected Speaker in the history of 441 legislative sessions in Maryland. This was a moment I shall not soon forget.

This session I continue as a member of the Economic Matters Committee serving on the Banking, Financial Institutions, and Consumer Protection Subcommittee, as well as the Property and Casualty Insurance Subcommittee. We have spent time in briefings from the Governor’s departments on a variety of background matters as we gear up for public hearings on legislation that is being filed and assigned to our committee.

New Role
Speaker Adrienne Jones has appointed me Vice Chair of the 99 member Democratic Caucus. I will work with Chair Delegate Jazz Lewis to serve the members of the Caucus and provide assistance to the Speaker in managing the priorities and needs of each member. Consequently, our District 9B office has moved to Suite 350 in the Lowe House Office Building, where we now share a suite with the Majority Leader, Parliamentarian, and Caucus Chair. I am appreciative to the Speaker for this new opportunity.


Join us for District 9 Night
Join Senator Hester, Delegates Kittleman and Miller, and me in Annapolis on February 3rd from 6-8 p.m. for District 9 night. Light refreshments will be served, and you are invited to walk to the State House with us and watch the 8 p.m. legislative session in reserved seats in the balcony. Last year this was a very popular event, and we hope you can make plans to attend. It’s an opportunity to speak with us, provide your feedback, and see government in action.  

Staff of 9B
Many of you know Terry Chaconas, long time Howard County resident who is the Chief of Staff for the District 9B office, as she ably assisted me for eight years on the County Council. Terry is a terrific problem solver, so if you have a question or concern be sure to call us. Cindy Scruggs is a former Howard County resident who now lives in Annapolis and is also working in the 9B office this year. Terry and Cindy did not know each other before working together in this office, but they have something in common. They both won the “Friends of Education Award” from the Howard County Board of Education in different years, and you can see those twin awards in this picture. I am pleased and proud to have them both working for the residents of District 9B.


Stay tuned for details about the legislative scholarship program.

Visit Us
Join us to watch a floor session, receive a tour, and be introduced to the General Assembly. Call Terry Chaconas to arrange it. We love to have visitors.

How to Contact My Office
Your thoughts are always welcome. Please contact me by phone or email with your comments on bills we are reviewing in Annapolis. When requesting help for constituent matters, please include “Constituent” in the subject line.

Delegate Courtney Watson
Howard County District 9B
Member, Economic Matters Committee

Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Room 350

Annapolis, MD 21401

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

BREAKING NEWS: Ellicott City Awarded $8.25 Million in FY21 State Budget

March 18, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square